Entries by bts4hsm

Important Board Meeting Friday 3/22/13 7:00PM – Open to All

On Friday, March 22, at 7:00 PM in the conference room at the Byrd Center for Legislative Studies, we will have a board meeting to discuss next steps for the warehouse and for the organization. Most critically, we need to discuss strategies for recruiting a board president and new board members.  Any potential new members are encouraged to attend.

| March 8, 2013 |

2012 Warehouse Projects Cap a Decade of Progress

2012 was another busy year of improvement projects at the Warehouse.  In conjunction with the 10 year anniversary of the start of preservation efforts at the building, FOSR has published a list of Completed Preservation Projects.  The list can be found here.

| December 20, 2012 |

December 2012 – Foundation Work Complete

Foundation drainage work is complete at the Warehouse.  To improve foundation drainage, work has proceeded to: 1) Excavate along the north and west sides of the building. 2) Repoint deteriorated mortar in the stone foundation. 3) Fill openings in the foundation created by previous waterworks operations. 4) Install french drain pipes. 5) Backfill with drain rock.  FOSR members Bob Reynolds and Steve Ayraud installed much of the drain pipe.  The Shepherdstown Water Department removed abandoned pipes and debris.

For additional photos of the work see the Warehouse Renovation Gallery.

| December 20, 2012 |

March 2012: Access Improvements and Interior Renovations

March 2012: Waterworks floor and misc. scrap metal removed from interior. New door installed in existing opening at the parking area. Access to the floor of the building is now possible!  Clear view of this historic waterworks pump is now possible.

| March 27, 2012 |

Annual Board Meeting

The annual Friends of the Shepherdstown Riverfront Board meeting was held November 11, 2011.  New Board members and officers were elected as follows:

New Board Members:

  • Mark Burkhardt
  • Tyra Guyton
  •  Chris Robinson
  • Amanda Tremba Whitmore
  • Meredith Wait

New Officers:

  • Bob Reynolds        President
  • Keith Alexander    Vice President
  • Mina Goodrich       Secretary
  •  Tony Price              Treasurer

Many thanks to outgoing President Dale Walter for her years of service to FOSR.

| November 11, 2011 |